Reading Non-Fiction

Every year I try to read at least 12 books. Up until three years ago, the bulk of my reading was from the fiction section (think Pride and Prejudice, Twilight, Confessions of a Shopaholic). That may have been due to my status as a student for so long and getting into the habit of using my personal reading time for something light and entertaining. Nevertheless, when I watched the movie Julie and Julia, I realized I might be missing out on a plethora of interesting stories, people, history, etc. So, I decided to start my journey into non-fiction by reading Julie’s book, on which the movie is based.

It was an interesting read. Definitely entertaining, but not in the same “light” way as the fiction I had been reading. There were many moments when the book made me ponder what my own reaction would have been. All in all, I determined it was time to change gears.

Since then, I have been reading mostly non-fiction. It is thought provoking and personally challenging. Although, I still feel much of it is delightfully entertaining, there are moments when I wish it wasn’t real. It causes deep personal reflection on matters that I would otherwise avoid through my choice of fiction.

Below is the list of non-fiction books I have read since my encounter with Julie and Julia. My goal is to publish a post for each of these books in the coming months, sharing what motivated me to read the book and some thoughts that have stuck with me. So stay tuned!

  • Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom
  • A Civil Society by Peter Hart
  • The 100-Mile Diet by Alisa Smith and J.B. MacKinnon
  • Carjacked by Catherine Lutz and Anne Lutz Fernandez
  • Bottlemania by Elizabeth Royte
  • Mom Inc. by Amy Ballon and Danielle Botterell
  • You Can Change by Tim Chester
  • Self-Reliant Cities by David Morris
  • Nurtureshock by Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman
  • Hold Onto Your Kids by Gordon Neufeld and Gabor Mate
  • Switch by Chip and Dan Heath
  • My Life in France by Julie Child and Alex Prud’homme
  • Joyride by Mia Birk
  • The True History of Chocolate by Sophie D. and Michael D. Coe
  • A Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver
  • The New Birth Order Book by Dr. Kevin Leman
5 thoughts on “Reading Non-Fiction

  1. lightpuma

    Interesting article.
    I would definitely read a non-fic over fiction any day =p. I just love the factor of creativity and I love to just escape into different places and universes altogether. It’s so amazing. But at the same time, I do realize that I should do some more non-fiction reading. It can often be just as, usally more, in fact, inspiring and educational then it’s counterpart. But to be honest, I can read fiction almost anytime, whereas I can only read non-fic when I’m not tired =p.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on Tuesdays with Morrie | Hirtopolis

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on The 100-Mile Diet | Hirtopolis

  4. Pingback: Thoughts on The True History of Chocolate | Hirtopolis

Leave a Reply

